DATABASES  /  Cloud DBaaS  /  2 - Activating and managing a service  /  Managing backups

2.5 Managing backups

Cloud DBaaS automatically performs the (incremental) backup of each individual database daily for the last 7 days. The cost of automatic backups is included in the plan. The automatic backups created by the system are classified as "Scheduled" in the "Backups" section.

The backups created manually are classified as "On Demand", and unlike automatic backs they have an hourly cost per GB and do not expire.

The actions that you can perform for a backup do not depend on the type of resources, the database or its version.
 
Backups Shared resources Dedicated resources
Download backup of the database    
Restore backup of the database    
Delete backup of the database*    
* only for backups created manually (On Demand)
The actions that you can perform for a backup depend on the status of the Cloud DBaaS.
 
Backups Active Limited Inactive
Download backup of the database      
Restore backup of the database      
Delete backup of the database *      
* only for backups created manually (On Demand)
Go to the technical datasheet for the Cloud DBaaS for which you want to manage the database backups by clicking on "MANAGE".

Click on "Backups" under the name of the service.
 
To download a backup:
  • In the "Databases" area, find the backup that you want to download, hover the mouse over the "ACTIONS" button next to it and click on "Download Backup".
  • The "Download backup" pop-up window will appear, containing the address where you can download the backup. The address can be copied by clicking on the icon on the right.
  • If you want to download it directly, click on "DOWNLOAD BACKUP" to finish.
To restore a backup of a database:
  • In the "Databases" area, find the backup that you want to restore, hover the mouse over the "ACTIONS" button next to it and click on "Restore Backup".
  • The "Restore backup data" pop-up window will appear, showing the creation date, name and size of the backup.
  • Click on "RESTORE BACKUP" to finish.
Please note that with the "Restore Backup" function, all the changes made to the database after the date of the backup that you are restoring will be deleted.
To delete a backup of a database:
  • In the "Databases" area, find the backup (On Demand) that you want to delete, hover the mouse over the "ACTIONS" button next to it and select "Delete Backup".
  • The "Confirm that you want to delete the backup" pop-up window will appear, showing the creation date, name and size of the backup and asking you to confirm that you want to continue.
  • Click on "OK, DELETE" to finish.