Consequences of deleting a volume
Deleting a volume is an irreversible operation: all data stored on the volume cannot be recovered.
Which volumes can be deleted
You can only delete volumes that:
- have the Not in use status: if the volume status is Active, you must first disconnect it from the resource;
- do not have active snapshots: otherwise, you must first delete the snapshot created for that volume.
Deleting a volume from the Block Storage section
- Log in to Aruba CMP;
- from the menu, select Public Cloud > Storage;
- in the Block Storage area, select Go to Block Storage;
- in the Block Storage section, locate the volume you want to delete and select the three dots at the end of the corresponding row;
- select Delete volume from the list;
- in the Delete volume window, confirm the operation and select Delete volume.
Deleting a volume with Failed status
- Log in to Aruba CMP;
- from the menu, select Public Cloud > Storage;
- in the Block Storage area, select Go to Block Storage;
- in the Block Storage section, locate the volume you want to delete and select the three dots at the end of the corresponding row;
- select Manage volume from the list;
- on the volume details page, go to Volume actions and select Delete volume;
- in the Delete volume window, confirm the operation and select Delete volume.
Deleting a volume associated with Kubernetes
To delete a volume associated with Kubernetes, you can use:
- the Kubernetes console: you can delete one or more volumes in the cluster;
- Aruba CMP: you can delete the Kubernetes cluster; this operation will also delete all its volumes.