Utilities > Observability > Monitoring > Monitoring alerts

01 Monitoring alerts

What monitoring alerts are

A monitoring alert allows you to receive a notification when the conditions set for a specific service persist for the configured duration.

You can create monitoring alerts for:
  • Kubernetes Clusters;
  • VMware Virtual Private Cloud;
  • VMware Cloud Pro;
  • Cloud Servers;
  • Volumes;
  • VPN Tunnels.

How to create a monitoring alert

You can create a monitoring alert from any section on the Monitoring page.
If you access the Monitoring alerts section, you can create alerts by selecting the service type, whereas from the other sections you can create alerts only for the specific service type.

To create a monitoring alert:
  • log in to Aruba CMP;
  • from the menu, select Utilities > Observability;
  • in the Monitoring area, select Go to service;
  • in the Monitoring alerts area, select Go to service;
  • in the Monitoring alerts section, select + Create new alert;
  • in the Create new alert procedure, enter the following information:
    • 1. Information
      • enter an Alert name (follow the naming rules);
      • you can associate one or more Tags (Optional) with the alert (follow the tagging rules);
      • you can add information about the alert in Note (Optional);
      • select Next;
    • 2. Service
      • select the Service type for which you are creating the alert; only service types for which you have an active service are listed;
      • select one or more active services in Service name for the service type previously selected;
      • select Next.
    • 3. Set up
      • set the conditions that will trigger the alert; the available conditions vary depending on the service type selected;
      • Duration indicates how long the configured conditions must persist before the alert is triggered;
      • using Alert enabled, you can choose whether to enable the alert immediately or create it and enable it later;
      • select Next.
    • 4. Channel
      • choose how you want to receive the alert by selecting at least one option between Notification on Platform and email;
      • select Next;
    • select Confirm on the right-hand side of the sticky bar to complete the creation of the monitoring alert.
The newly created alert is displayed in the Your alerts list in the Monitoring alerts section. The alert is created immediately.

How to disable or enable a monitoring alert

The status of an alert is set when it is created. If you do not change it, the alert is enabled immediately.

To change the status of an alert:
  • directly from the Monitoring alerts page:
    • find the alert whose status you want to change and select the three dots at the end of the corresponding row;
    • select Disable or Enable to change its status.
  • from the alert details page:
    • on the Monitoring alerts page, find the alert whose status you want to change and select the three dots at the end of the corresponding row;
    • select Manage;
    • the Alert details page opens;
    • in the Actions section, use the Alert enabled switch to change its status.

How to edit a monitoring alert

  • Go to the Monitoring alerts page;
  • find the alert you want to edit and select the three dots at the end of the corresponding row;
  • select Manage;
  • in the Actions section of the Alert details page, select Edit;
  • in the edit procedure, you can change:
    • 1. Information: the alert name, tags and notes;
    • 2. Service: the services, but not the service type;
    • 3. Set up: some parameters and whether the alert is enabled;
    • 4. Channel: how the alert is received.
  • select Confirm on the right-hand side of the sticky bar to complete the changes to the monitoring alert.

How to delete a monitoring alert

You can delete a monitoring alert regardless of whether it is enabled or disabled. Deleting the alert does not delete messages that have already been created and sent, which remain available in the Messages received section.

To delete a monitoring alert:
  • directly from the Monitoring alerts page:
    • find the alert you want to delete and select the three dots at the end of the corresponding row;
    • select Delete;
    • the Delete alerts window opens, where you are asked to confirm the operation.
  • from the alert details page:
    • on the Monitoring alerts page, find the alert you want to delete and select the three dots at the end of the corresponding row;
    • select Manage;
    • the Alert details page opens;
    • in the Actions section on the right-hand side of the page, select Delete;
    • the Delete alerts window opens, where you are asked to confirm the operation.

How to view notifications for a monitoring alert

When the conditions set to monitor a specific service persist for the configured duration, the system creates and sends the corresponding notification.

Messages sent by the system are available:
  • in the Messages received area of the Monitoring alerts section, where you can find messages for all service types;
  • in the Alerts tab for the individual services in the Monitoring section, where you can find only messages related to the specific service type you are monitoring.