DATABASES  /  Cloud DBaaS  /  2 - Activating and managing a service  /  Database user permissions

2.3.1 Database user permissions

There are three different profiles that can be assigned to a user (in relation to the database):
  • Lite Admin: full read, write and delete permissions for the database.
    The user can read and edit data in the tables, add new records, create and delete tables and change the structure of existing tables.
  • Read/Write: read and write permissions for the database.
    The user can add, read, edit and delete records in the tables.
    The user cannot create new tables, delete existing tables or change their structure.
  • Read Only: read-only permission for the database.
    The user has read-only access to the entire database but never has write permissions. The user can read the records in the different tables, without being able to change them in any way.
User profile Shared resources Dedicated resources
Lite Admin    
Read/Write    
Read Only    
 
When the service has shared resources (both for MySQL and for Microsoft SQL Server), the system creates just one user with full permissions for the single database.
 
User profile read write delete
Lite Admin      
When the service has dedicated resources (both for MySQL and for Microsoft SQL Server) you can create several users and assign one or more profiles to them, for one or more databases.
 
User profile read write delete
Lite Admin      
Read/Write      
Read Only      
 
Please note that there must always be at least one user with a "Lite Admin" profile.