What is a snapshot?
A snapshot is a copy of the contents of a Cloud VPS OpenStack at a specific point in time. An image of the disks is created, allowing you to restore the data and system configurations that were present when the snapshot was created. Networks and compute resources are not saved in the snapshot.
Creating and retaining a snapshot is free of charge and does not incur any additional costs.
A snapshot can also be created using
scheduled operations.
What you need to know about snapshots
- You can only create one snapshot at a time.
- To create a snapshot, the disks must have at least 10% free space.
- The snapshot is retained for 48 hours from the time it is created, after which it is automatically deleted.
- When a snapshot is active, you cannot upgrade the resources.
- While the snapshot is being deleted, you cannot make changes to the Cloud VPS OpenStack.
- To restore the snapshot, the Cloud VPS OpenStack must be switched off.
- After the snapshot has been restored, it is deleted.
If you have a Cloud VPS OpenStack migrated from a Cloud VPS VMware, you cannot use
scheduled operations to schedule snapshots. You can still create snapshots manually.
Why create a snapshot?
Creating a snapshot is useful before carrying out operations that could change the data or configuration of the Cloud VPS OpenStack, for example:
- installing new software;
- updating existing software;
- changing system or service configurations;
- making changes to critical files or data.
Creating a snapshot of a Cloud VPS OpenStack
- access the details page of the Cloud VPS OpenStack for which you want to create a snapshot;
- in the lower section, select the Snapshots tab;
- select Add snapshot;
- in the Create snapshot window, confirm the operation by selecting Create snapshot;
- once the operation is complete, the snapshot is displayed with its creation date and expiry date.
Restoring a snapshot of a Cloud VPS OpenStack
- access the details page of the Cloud VPS OpenStack for which you want to restore the snapshot;
- switch off the Cloud VPS OpenStack;
- in the lower section, select the Snapshots tab;
- find the snapshot and select the three dots at the end of the corresponding row;
- select Restore Snapshot from the menu;
- in the Restore Snapshot window, enter the specified keyword in the relevant field to confirm the operation;
- select Restore Snapshot;
- once the operation is complete, you can switch the Cloud VPS OpenStack back on. It will be restored to the state it was in when the snapshot was created;
- once the restore is complete, the snapshot is deleted and you can create a new one.
Deleting a snapshot of a Cloud VPS OpenStack
- access the details page of the Cloud VPS OpenStack for which you want to delete the snapshot;
- in the lower section, select the Snapshots tab;
- find the snapshot and select the three dots at the end of the corresponding row;
- select Delete snapshot from the menu;
- in the Delete snapshot window, enter the specified keyword in the relevant field to confirm the operation;
- select Delete snapshot;
- once the operation is complete, the snapshot is no longer available and you can create a new one.