Phone sales support +39 0575 05077
  Phone technical support +39 0575 0508
 
Cloud Server > 6 - Managing a Cloud Server > Snapshot functionality

6.04 Snapshot functionality

The Snapshot functionality is only available for a Cloud Server on a VMware Hypervisor.
Creating a Snapshot means creating a restore point for the Cloud Server: an image of the whole Cloud Server is created for both the data structure and the system configurations (networks and computational resources are not recovered, only the disks and their configuration is restored). Restoring the Snapshot is possible at any time to restore the Cloud Server so that it perfectly matches the moment when the Snapshot was created. When the Snapshot is activated only the RAM and the vCPU can be changed.

On Aruba Cloud Computing you can create a single Snapshot at a time and it will be kept for 2 days: after this period the Snapshot will be deleted. Keeping the SnapShot is free and does not incur any additional costs.

To create a Snapshot, proceed as follows:
  1. Go to the edit page of the Cloud Server: tab "CLOUD Computing"



    and click on the "Manage" button



    in the list for the Cloud Server that you want to create a Snapshot for.
  2. Click on the tab "Snapshot" to open the section dedicated to this functionality.

  3. Click on the "Create" button to create the Snapshot.

  4. At the end of the operation the Snapshot will be listed with the creation date and expiry date.

To restore a Snapshot proceed as follows:
  1. Go to the edit page of the Cloud Server: tab "CLOUD Computing"



    and click on the "Manage" button



    in the list for the Cloud Server for which you want to restore the Snapshot.
  2. Switch off the Cloud Server by clicking on the "Shut Down" button

  3. Click on the tab "Snapshot" to open the section dedicated to this functionality.

  4. Click on the button "Restore" to restore the Cloud Server to the time of the Snapshot.

  5. A window will open where you will be prompted to confirm the attempt to restore,



    and then confirm by clicking on "OK".
  6. At the end of the operation you can re-start the Cloud Server which will be restored to the time of the Snapshot.
  7. Once restored the Snapshot will be deleted, so that a new Snapshot can be created.
To remove a Snapshot, proceed as follows:
  1. Go to the edit page of the individual Cloud Server: tab "CLOUD Computing"



    and click on the "Manage" button



    in the list for the Cloud Server that you want to create a Snapshot for.
  2. Click on the tab "Snapshot" to open the section dedicated to this functionality.

  3. Click on the button "Remove" to remove the Snapshot.

  4. A window will open where you will be prompted to confirm the attempt to remove the Snapshot,



    and then confirm by clicking on "OK".
  5. At the end of the operation the Snapshot will be removed and will no longer be present in the list.
 ATTENTION: we remind you that:
• when the Snapshot function is active it is not possible to archive the Cloud Server;
• to create the Snapshot of a Cloud Server switched on, the disks need to have at least 10% of available space.