Public Cloud > Backup > Backup Agentless > Restoring Agentless Backup

1.6 Restoring Agentless Backup

What restore is and what it involves

Backup restore is the process of recovering and restoring the entire system to a previous state.
 
The data on the selected volume will be overwritten and can no longer be recovered.

Where you can restore a backup

You can restore a Block Storage backup either to the original volume or to another volume that is the same size as or larger than the original volume.
 
You can only restore to volumes that are not in use.
For bootable volumes, you can restore to a new bootable volume only if you created it via API.

Restoring a backup

  • Go to the Agentless Backup details page;
  • select Backup Actions and then Restore;
  • in the Restore window, choose whether to restore to the original volume or to another volume;
     
    If you want to restore to a new volume, the destination volume must be the same size as or larger than the original volume.
  • select Continue;
  • select Confirm on the right side of the sticky bar to complete the backup restore.
     
    Restoring a backup (to the original volume or to a new volume) does not change the backup expiration date. If you configured a retention period, the backup will remain available for the specified number of days; otherwise, it will remain available until it is manually deleted.