Managing Cloud Server disks > Deleting a disk

10 Deleting a disk

Before proceeding

The operations described may affect the system and data, potentially causing malfunctions or data loss:
  • always back up your data or the entire server externally before performing any operation;
  • if available, create a snapshot of the server from the management panel before making changes to the system;
  • for unmanaged services, you are responsible for managing the operating system and software;
  • if in doubt, consult a trusted system administrator or check the latest official documentation for the operating system or software in use.

Which disks can be deleted

You can only delete the Cloud Server secondary disks (HD 2, HD 3 and HD 4). You cannot delete the primary disk (HD 1).

What happens when you delete a secondary Cloud Server disk

Deleting a secondary disk is irreversible: all data stored on the disk will be deleted.

Deleting a secondary Cloud Server disk

  • Go to the Cloud Server details page;
  • select the Resources tab below the Cloud Server name;
  • on the Features of the Server page, you can see the primary disk (HD 1) and the secondary disks (HD 2, HD 3, HD 4);
  • locate the secondary disk you want to delete and select the corresponding DELETE button;
  • go to the bottom of the page and confirm the operation by selecting EDIT SERVER.

Best practice

  • Since deleting a disk is irreversible, we recommend that you back up its contents so that you can recover the data if necessary.
Related guides:
Cloud Backup