Public Cloud > Backup > Backup for Microsoft 365 > Managing a Backup for Microsoft 365 account

03 Managing a Backup for Microsoft 365 account

Accessing the Backup for Microsoft 365 account details page

To access the details page of a Backup for Microsoft 365 account, follow these steps:
  • log in to Aruba CMP;
  • from the menu, select PUBLIC CLOUD > Backup;
  • in the Backup for Microsoft 365 area, select Go to the Control Panel;
  • in the Manage Backup for Microsoft 365 section, locate the account you want to manage;
  • select MANAGE to access the account details page.

Backup for Microsoft 365 account status

Account status Status description Action
Creating The account is being created. Wait for the account creation process to finish.
Active The account is active. The account is active.
Updating The account is being updated following a change. Wait for the update to finish.
Suspended Backups are suspended and access to Veeam Service Provider Console is blocked. If the suspension is due to insufficient credit for renewal, top up your credit with an amount sufficient to cover the renewal cost.
If the suspension is due to storage exhaustion with the option to suspend jobs enabled, see What to do when storage runs out.
Inactive Backups are suspended and access to Veeam Service Provider Console is blocked. This occurs when a shared solution exceeds 1,000 users. You must contact support.
In cancellation The account is being deleted. Wait for the deletion process to finish.

What to do when storage runs out

If you have selected a package-based storage pricing plan with the following option:
  • Manually. When disk space purchased runs out, backup jobs will be suspended., for the shared solution;
  • Do not add more disk space and suspend backup jobs., for the dedicated solution;
when storage runs out, the system: In this case, you can:
  • change the storage pricing plan by:
    • increasing the available resources;
    • changing the behavior when storage runs out and selecting the automatic storage expansion option;
  • keep the current pricing plan and contact support to free up the storage used by backups and restore access to Veeam Service Provider Console.
You can still restore backups using Veeam Restore Portal.

Changing the retention period and time slot

Changes to the retention period or time slot made in the Control Panel may take up to 24 hours to be applied in Veeam Service Provider Console.

To change the retention period or time slot, follow these steps:
  • access the Backup for Microsoft 365 account details page;
  • select Backup below the account name;
  • change:
    • Retention period;
    • Backup execution window;
  • select SAVE CHANGES at the bottom of the page;
  • in the Confirm changes username_company dialog, select CONFIRM.

Resetting the password

If you lose your Backup for Microsoft 365 account password, you must reset it through Veeam Service Provider Console.

To reset the password, follow these steps:
  • access the Backup for Microsoft 365 account details page;
  • scroll down to the Manage Services section;
  • select GO TO PANEL next to Veeam Service Provider;
  • on the login page, select Forgot password?.

Managing restore operators

The restore operator role, assigned individually or through group membership, allows a user in your Microsoft 365 organization to impersonate other users and restore files, folders or services using Veeam Restore Portal.

To manage the restore operator role for users and groups, follow these steps:
  • access the Backup for Microsoft 365 account details page;
  • select Restore users management below the account name;
  • in the Restore users management section, select the organization for which you want to manage restore operators from the drop-down menu;
  • view the list of groups or users;
     
    The list of groups or users is available only after you have connected your Microsoft 365 organization to the Veeam Service Provider Console backup service.
  • for the relevant group or user, select Add to the restore list;
  • in the Add group/user to restore list dialog, select ADD to confirm;
  • after confirmation, Remove from the restore list will appear at the end of the row;
  • to remove the role, select Remove from the restore list.