Load Balancer > Managing a load balancer

05 Managing a load balancer

Accessing the load balancer details page

  • Log in to Aruba CMP;
  • you can access load balancer management from Public Cloud or VMware on Aruba Cloud:
    • Public Cloud:
      • from the menu, select PUBLIC CLOUD > Compute essential;
      • in the OpenStack Cloud Server area, select Go to the Control Panel;
      • from the menu, select PUBLIC CLOUD > Network > Load balancers;
    • VMware on Aruba Cloud:
      • from the menu, select VMWARE ON ARUBA CLOUD > Compute essential;
      • in the VMware Cloud Server area, select Go to the Control Panel;
      • from the menu, select VMWARE ON ARUBA CLOUD > Network > Load balancers;
  • select the Data Center that hosts the load balancer;
  • in the Manage load balancers section, locate the load balancer and select MANAGE at the end of the corresponding row;
  • from the details page, you can:

Changing the load balancer status

Changing the status of an enabled load balancer
  • Access the load balancer details page;
  • select DISABLE LOAD BALANCER in the LOAD BALANCER STATUS area;
  • in the Disable Load balancer window, confirm by selecting OK, DISABLE.
Changing the status of a disabled load balancer
  • Access the load balancer details page;
  • select ENABLE LOAD BALANCER in the LOAD BALANCER STATUS area;
  • in the Enable Load balancer window, confirm by selecting OK, CONFIRM.

Connecting and disconnecting one or more servers

See which servers can be connected to the load balancer.

Connecting a server

  • Access the load balancer details page;
  • scroll down to the Balanced Servers section;
  • select CONNECT SERVER;
  • in the Connect Server to balance window, select which machines you want to connect to the load balancer from those listed;
  • using the Dedicated Server IP Address field, you can connect one or more Dedicated Servers by entering the relevant IP address;
  • select CONNECT to confirm;
  • check that the change works correctly by running tests.

Disconnecting a Cloud Server / Dedicated Server

You cannot disconnect all servers from the load balancer; at least one server must always remain connected.
  • Access the load balancer details page;
  • scroll down to the Balanced Servers section;
  • locate the server you want to disconnect from the load balancer;
  • select the corresponding DISCONNECT button;
  • in the Disconnect machine window, confirm by selecting OK, DISCONNECT;
  • check that the change works correctly by running tests.

Creating or deleting one or more rules

Adding a rule

  • Access the load balancer details page;
  • scroll down to the Rules section;
  • select CREATE RULE;
  • in the Create new load balancer rule window, enter the four rule parameters and confirm by selecting CREATE RULE;
  • check that the change works correctly by running tests.

Deleting a rule

  • Access the load balancer details page;
  • scroll down to the Rules section;
  • locate the rule you want to delete and select DELETE;
  • in the Delete rule window, confirm by selecting DELETE;
  • check that the change works correctly by running tests.
     
    You cannot delete all rules: at least one rule must remain associated with the load balancer; if you only have one rule and want to delete it, you must first create a new one.

Analyzing statistics

  • Access the load balancer details page;
  • scroll down to the Load history section;
  • by selecting one of the available options in the Period list, you can change the display period up to the last 30 days; by default, the last 24 hours are displayed;
  • for a more detailed analysis by balanced server and applied rule, select GO TO STATISTICS.
     
    Load balancers can support up to 20,000 sessions per second and approximately 1 Gb/s of traffic. If you need higher performance, you can contact our team of experts to identify a customized solution.

Editing the name and notification settings

  • Access the load balancer details page;
  • select the Edit (Name and Notifications) tab under the load balancer name;
  • the page displayed contains two areas:
    • Load balancer name (remember that, within the same network, you cannot use a name that has already been assigned);
    • Notifications.
  • make the required changes and select SAVE CHANGES at the bottom of the page.