DATABASES  /  Cloud DBaaS  /  2 - Activating and managing a service  /  Managing databases

2.4 Managing databases

Go to the technical datasheet for the Cloud DBaaS for which you want to manage the databases by clicking on "MANAGE".

Click on "Users and databases" under the name of the service.

The actions you can perform for a database depend on whether the resources are shared or dedicated.
 
Databases Shared resources Dedicated resources
Backup single database (On Demand)    
Backup all databases (On Demand)    
Create a database    
Assign a user to a database    
Edit the profile of a database user    
Remove a user from a database    
Delete a database    
The actions you can perform for a database depend on the status of the Cloud DBaaS.
 
Databases Active Limited Inactive
Manual backup of the database      
Create a database *      
Assign a user to a database *      
Edit the profile of a database user *      
Remove a user from a database *      
Delete a database *      
* only for Cloud DBaaS with dedicated resources
 
To back up the database manually:
  • In the "Databases" area, find the database you want to back up, hover the mouse over the "ACTIONS" button next to it and select "Backup Database".
  • The "Start database backup" pop-up window will appear, showing the name and size of the database and the cost of the backup.
  • Click on "YES, CREATE DATABASE BACKUP" to finish.
  • While the backup is being created, "Backup in progress" will appear on the right of the database instead of the "ACTIONS" button.
  • The backup created will be listed in the "Backups" section as "On Demand".
BACKUP ALL DATABASES (only for Cloud DBaaS with dedicated resources)
In the beginning of the "Databases" area, there will be a "BACKUP ALL DBS" button that lets you create a manual backup for every single database.
To create a database:
  • At the beginning of the "Databases" area, click on "CREATE DATABASE".
  • The "Create database" pop-up window will appear, in which you will be asked to give the new database a name.
  • Click on "OK, CREATE DATABASE" to finish.
  • The new database will appear in the list in the "Databases" area.
Please note that if the service is marked as "Limited" or Inactive" you cannot create new databases.
To assign a user to a database:
  • In the "Databases" area, find the database to which you want to assign the user, hover the mouse over the "ACTIONS" button next to it and select "Manage users".
  • The "Manage database users" pop-up window will appear, listing the users already assigned to the database.
  • Click on "ADD USER".
  • A new row will appear in which you can choose the user to assign to the database and their permissions.
  • Select one of the users available in the drop-down menu to assign their profile (permissions).
  • Click on "SAVE".
  • A confirmation message will appear. Click on "CONFIRM" to finish.
If there is a database without any users, you can assign one or more to it in the "assign user" section in the corresponding line under "ASSIGNED USERS".

At least one user with a "Lite Admin" profile must be assigned to the database.
To edit the profile of a database user:
  • In the "Databases" area, find the database with the user whose profile you want to edit, hover the mouse over the "ACTIONS" button next to it and select "Manage users".
  • The "Manage database users" pop-up window will appear, listing the users connected to the database.
  • Find the user you are looking for and edit their profile in the "PERMISSIONS" column.
  • Click on "SAVE".
  • A confirmation message will appear. Click on "CONFIRM" to finish.
Please note that there must always be at least one user with a "Lite Admin" profile.
To remove a user from a database:
  • In the "Databases" area, find the database from which you want to remove a user, hover the mouse over the "ACTIONS" button next to it and select "Manage users".
  • The "Manage database users" pop-up window will appear, listing the users connected to the database.
  • Find the user you want to remove and click on the "DELETE" button next to them.
Please note that there must always be at least one user with a "Lite Admin" profile.
To delete a database:
  • In the "Databases" area, find the database you want to delete, hover the mouse over the "ACTIONS" button next to it and select "Delete Database".
  • The "Confirm that you want to delete the database" pop-up window will appear, in which you will be asked to confirm that you want to continue.
  • Click on "OK, DELETE" to finish.
Deleting a database does not delete the backups:
  • automatic backups will be kept for the next 7 days
  • manual backups (On Demand) will not be deleted unless they are deleted manually and their cost will continue to be calculated on an hourly basis per GB.