What happens when you associate a backup policy with a volume
When you associate a backup policy (global, template-based, or custom) with a volume, you are scheduling backups for that volume. The associated backup will only be visible in the Agentless Backup section after the first scheduled run (that is, after the first Full backup has been created).
Associating a backup policy with a volume
- Go to the backup policy details page;
- at the bottom of the page, select the Associated resources tab;
- select + Associate resource;
- the following information is required during the assignment procedure:
- 1. Information
- enter a name to identify the assignment (follow the naming rules);
- you can add one or more tags (follow the tagging rules);
- you must select a project. If you do not select one, the system assigns it to the default project;
- select Continue;
- 2. Service
- under Select volume, select the volume you want to assign the backup policy to;
- select Continue;
- 3. Backup policy
- the backup policy is already selected and cannot be changed;
- select Continue;
- select Confirm on the right-hand side of the sticky bar to complete the assignment of the backup policy to the volume.
You can also assign a backup policy to a volume from the volume
details page.
Viewing completed backup jobs
- Go to the backup policy details page;
- at the bottom of the page, select the Associated resources tab;
- all volumes associated with the backup policy are listed;
- locate the association and select the three dots at the end of the corresponding row;
- select View job execution from the list;
- you can view the list of all operations performed on the volume over the last 24 months.
Removing the association between a backup policy and a volume
- Go to the backup policy details page;
- at the bottom of the page, select the Associated resources tab;
- all volumes associated with the backup policy are listed;
- locate the association and select the three dots at the end of the corresponding row;
- select Delete association from the list;
- a window opens where you must confirm the operation.